Aristotelian Analysis

 

In my Aristotelian Rhetorical Analysis, we will watch a video where James Veitch, a writer and comedian, will be presenting a TEDTalks Video called This is what happens when you reply to spam email. I chose this video because it seems fitting for a social media class, and I enjoy watching TEDTalks videos. Before finding this video on YouTube, I hadn’t heard of James Veitch, but I have watched many TEDTalks, and they choose quality speakers. I also figured, if it is comical, it doesn’t have to be credible.

The appropriate audience for this video is someone who has seen a spam email (so, practically everyone), those with a sense of humor, and those of middle age or younger. It is James’ job to make others laugh. He was able to find amusement out of an email and relate it to others. James wanted to make people laugh, which he did. Most of all, he wanted to bring light to a crime that targets vulnerable adults. These people do not realize they have been targeted and scammed until it is too late, but talking about a crime such as this is not fun, so James publically made fun of the scammers to make the talk enjoyable.

James used the fact that most people have enough experience, sense, and that they are able to recognize a scam when they hear, “you’ve got mail”. He also used a hint of sarcasm when making comments such as, “So I knew I was dealing with a professional.” after reading an email from a scammer with grammatical errors and little context. James not only made the audience laugh, but he connected with the audience through humor and being able to relate to thoughts that have gone through peoples’ heads when they receive those pesky, spam emails. He also added that he aided everyone else by taking up the spammers’ time during these conversations.

My final analysis on James’ video is that it is funny, he connected with his audience, he brought to light a problem, he used logic and emotion to catch and keep the audiences’ attention, and he was able to effectively use all seven elements needed for an Aristotelian analysis and great storytelling.

12 thoughts on “Aristotelian Analysis

  1. Thank you so much for doing this post early in the week! That is so helpful to me.

    You definitely understand the parts of this type of analysis, and, just in terms of how you’ve written your post here, one thing that works really well is the size of the paragraphs you’ve written: in a blog post, really long paragraphs are hard for readers to ingest and often turn off the audience. So, visually, you’ve laid out your writing nicely.

    Tips:

    –When you write about someone you don’t know and want to use a single name, use the last name, not the first name (Veitch, not James)

    –Your post could explain Veitch’s credentials as a speaker on this subject; why is he an authority when it comes to scams?

    –You also could address, even more specifically, the logic and emotion that he uses so that readers of your blog see how he is applying these techniques.

    Overall, this is a good first post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t know that I should be using the last name when I don’t know someone. I will be using that in my other writing for now on. When I wrote the analysis, I felt I explained the author, but after looking over other students’ blogs, I realized I didn’t give much background at all. My error there was, I didn’t realized that we should do research on them. I though we were going with what was offered to us when viewing the video. Next time I will know better.

      Like

  2. My boyfriend loves TEDTalks videos and for some reason I’ve never watched any. This video couldn’t be more spot on. I love that you chose a humorous video that we all can relate to. I really like your layout of this blog. After reading your post, I feel I should have separated my post out into smaller paragraphs. This really helps set aside each topic you are trying to cover. Mine is just one big ramble. This assignment was hard for me to understand what to do, but I see how we had to analyze the bigger picture. I feel you did this very well. I really enjoyed the video, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Usually the TEDtalks videos are serious, inspirational, or self development kind of video, but I thought this one seemed interesting and funny. You should look into watching some of their videos. I enjoy them a lot.

      Like

  3. Reading your blog post made me wish I had done a analysis of a TedTalk video! The speakers are always very engaging, even when watching on YouTube and not in the audience. I also really enjoy the topic you chose. Good old chain mail, what a interesting way to spam someone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This video choice was hard to do this analysis on, but it was definitly an amusing one. It’s funny to us because we understand technology. It is sad that older people would fall for some of the emails he talks about.

      Like

  4. TEDTalks are amazing, they are always educational and it’s even better when they are humorous. Even with filters spam can still sneak into our Inboxes so it’s a good reminder to always be careful with the emails you choose to open. I think even worse that some of them might have a virus attached to them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So I have heard of TEDtalks but never watched any. I feel now after reading your review of this video that I need to go and watch them because I am missing out on something. haha. I know that I struggle with a lot of the mail that comes into my mailbox and that it gets hard to see when you are being scammed.

    Like

  6. It took me just a few minutes of reading your analysis before I absolutely had to watch the video. This guy was hilarious. I completely understand why you were trying to get the point across that he is a comedian. I also like how you said “comedy doesn’t have to be credible” even though this video is very credible coming from TEDTalks. We watched those in high school. Overall a good video choice thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

